Join E-list
Buy tickets

THE BUZZ: Cinnabar honored by SF Critics Circle

Cinnabar Theater scores 15 Critic’s Circle nominations

ARGUS-COURIER STAFF | March 18, 2017

Petaluma’s tiny theater on the hill clearly made a huge impact with theater critics last year. Cinnabar Theater has earned fifteen nominations from the San Francisco Bay Area Theater Critics’ Circle. The awards themselves — given to theaters spanning the entire Bay Area — will be announced on Monday, March 27 at the Circle’s annual awards gala at the historic Victoria Theater in San Francisco. Cinnabar’s nominees include the company’s April 2016 production of the wartime drama “Time Stands Still,” nominated for best set design (Jesse Dreikosen), best director (Sheri Lee Miller), best featured actress (Ivy Rose Miller), best ensemble, and best overall pro-duction. Also named was the bittersweet wine-country musical “The Most Happy Fella,” earning noms for best musical direction (Mary Chun), best featured actress (Krista Wigle), best featured actor (Michael Van Why), best principal actress (Jennifer Mitchell), and best principal actor (Stephan Walsh), and the one-woman-show “Bad Dates,” nominated for best overall production along with performer Jenifer King and director Molly Noble. The Gala, hosted by comedian Johnny Steele, includes light snacks and two drinks with each $25 ticket. For more information visit


Banner photo Stephen Walsh in The Most Happy Fella. Photo by Eric Chazankin; backdrop by Anita Walden